Meet Smartie aka Palmerston North

flatlandsfoto
EPNet Pro Member
Real Name (first and last name): Joan Davis

Meet Smartie aka Palmerston North

Post by flatlandsfoto »

In August of 2013, my farrier told me about a good horse in a rough situation. This is something he has done, several times a year for the past 20 years. My response is always the same – we don’t need any more horses! My husband Tom and I have an eventing barn in Area 1 where he trains horses and teaches riders to event. I work as a photographer at many of the USEA events. On average we have 12 horses on our payroll, a number of which our students can take out eventing. I have no idea what made me listen this time as the last thing we needed was another mouth to feed (and feet to shoe) but I couldn’t be happier that I did!

Tom contacted the horse’s owner and was told that he was a 13 yr old NZL TB who had been purchased through a New Jersey Hunter/Jumper barn. Her life had changed and she no longer had time to ride. He was being well cared for but was in a barn with no turn out which is never a good thing for a horse bred to gallop. In addition, it appears it had been several years since he had had any kind of regular exercise. She did mention that she was told he had done some eventing in Canada with a previous owner. This was on a Friday as we were packing to leave for an event on Saturday morning. The following Monday morning we hitched up the trailer and picked him up sight unseen.

Now while my farrier is a western guy, he was a long time race track farrier and knows a quality TB when he sees one. I shouldn’t have been surprised by what a lovely horse this was… However he was going to be a bit of a rehab project. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a horse weave with the zest he did, but after 48 hours and some turn out he settled in quite nicely.