Should I buy the canon 70-200mm f/2.8 is ii?

Not a member but have a question related to equine photography? Ask it here! You must be registered on the forum to be able to post here.

Moderator: admin

snaphappyshaz
Real Name (first and last name): Sharon Young

Should I buy the canon 70-200mm f/2.8 is ii?

Post by snaphappyshaz »

I'm currently a photographer at outdoor show jumping events in France. I have been using my Canon 5d mkiii with my Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens. I often struggle in low light first thing in the morning or early evening and need to get a new lens. I also think with. Also with a better lens I am sure the images would be netter quality.

I don't know if the canon 70-200mm f/2.8 is ii would be really necessary or if the canon 70-200mm f/2.8 is would do me. The newer and more expensive lens will also be heavier and I really feel I need to hand hold the camera as I move around within the middle of the course. I welcome advice re whether anyone thinks it would be way to heavy for this. I could try a monopod but I use back button focus and track the horse, as opposed to focussing on the jump.

My other option would be to take the photos from a higher position outside the arena with a more powerful zoom. If anyone is using a Canon EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM
Or a Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM I would love to hear your feedback.

Cheers
laurie lewis
Registered Guest
Real Name (first and last name): laurie lewis

Re: Should I buy the canon 70-200mm f/2.8 is ii?

Post by laurie lewis »

YES I had the 70-200mm (one) and sold it and bought the ii and it is sharper than the first one and just as fast and really a great lens.
shapack
EPNet Pro Member
Real Name (first and last name): Sharon Packer

Post by shapack »